Wednesday, November 19, 2008

New Cabinetry

Nunavut's new Premier and Cabinet have now been sworn in. Premier Aariak (did I mention she's originally from Arctic Bay?) and the other MLA's met late last week to select a Cabinet. The Premier then assigned the portfolios which were revealed today. Here's the rundown without comment other than to say that some of my predictions were accurate while others were way off.

Eva Aariak - Premier; Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs; Status of Women.

Keith Peterson - Finance; Health

Louis Tapardjuk - Culture, Language, Elders and Youth (aka CLEY); Justice; House Leader

Hunter Tootoo - Education (aka my boss's boss's boss's boss's boss); Nunavut Housing Corp.

Lorne Kusugak - Government and Community Services; Energy; Qulliq Energy Corp.

Peter Taptuna - Deputy Premier; Economic Development and Transportation; Nunavut Business Credit Corp.; Nunavut Development Corp. and Mines

Daniel Shewchuk - Environment; Human Resources

Expect a little bit of cabinet shuffling next month. One final Minister will be assigned Cabinet responsibilities following a December 15 byelection.